SUMMER AND WINTER

He told me I was different when we first met

He trusted me with everything and told me every secret

But suspicions arose and darkened our minds

And I knew we were running out of time

His version doesn’t match mine on what’s right

And finally it happened – exploding the night

He cries

“I never wanted goodbye,

But all these falls, slams to the floor

I can’t take it anymore.”

So now he watches me through a stony silence

Both sides of communication lost through unmoving defiance

He won’t speak to me- not a single word

He claims he tried to say something but I just never heard

Sometimes it seems like we’re moving closer but he just breaks away

And I should’ve known something so good could never stay

Winter girls aren’t made for heat

Summer boys aren’t made to freeze

He told me that he loved me but I just abused the way he feels

He gave me everything and I would just lie and steal

Summer and winter, heat and cold

Golden wishes and silver dreams that were never told

Light and dark and ice and fire

And two hearts run off tracks by reckless desire

And now there’s an endless ocean between him and I

And what was left of love has withered and died

And now his eyes are on me

Begging to set him free

So I turn away from his flames and walk back to the snow

Breathe  in the thin air and finally let him go

WOLFCALLS

 

 

Leave a Reply

