GRAY SKIES

Voices echo off the walls

As I watch him watch me from across the hall

I hear his voice swirl through my brain

24/7, I think I’m going insane

He speaks a thousand words all through a perfect silence

Playing with both sides- in one hand faith the other science

He’ll let me go, saying he’s set me free

Then whisper in my ear that he could never leave me

He’s not even sure if what he says is real

‘Cause he’s just addicted to the way that it feels

Says he won’t let go ’cause he’d never make it on his own

Yet he and I both know he’d do just fine alone,

He knows all the best ways to take me apart

Makes a fool out of my logic by pulling on my heart,

Gets me convinced he’s always watching from behind,

Leaves me with words I keep running through my mind

And he likes to keep nothing the way that it were

But there is one thing  that I know for sure

He’s addicted to those gray skies

And I’m addicted to the fire in his eyes,

He loves breathing in the air before a storm,

He’ll sleep in the middle of a blizzard to keep warm

He’s addicted to the vibration of the drums sounding,

And loves anything that will get his heart pounding,

He’s addicted to the light of the full moon late at night

And he’s addicted to the thrill of winning fights

He chases highs just to be reckless

And we wake entwined in the perfect mess

And I know he’ll get me every time

Because I know he’s never really mine

Chasing him’s just gonna wind me up dead

Because he’s always a thousand steps ahead

And each time around leads to more regrets

But I’m not ready to give up yet

Let me share a secret with you:

He’s addicted to the feeling- but I am too

WOLFCALLS

 

Leave a Reply

