SUNLIGHT

sunshineI watched him with sunlight in his eyes as he cried

Breathing too fast, heartbeat too loud as I listened to him lie

And I’d give a million dollars to know what’s going through his head

But I have to settle for sleeping with a ghost instead

And he leans in from his side of the bed and takes my face in his hands

Says he can’t explain it- that I wouldn’t understand

He thought that I was different but I’m just like all the rest

And no one can fix that empty space inside his chest

He says he loved me but we both know that’s not true

And I say “I don’t know how I can get through to you”,

No words, no sound as I slowly get back dressed

I know what he’s going through- is it really so hard to confess?

Finally he admits “I don’t know what love is

And all those nights out chased is

Just emotions that’ve been wasted”

And so I say

“Sometimes that’s okay

Because sometimes it’s alright not to know

The hard part’s letting go

And sometimes it’s alright

To cry out for someone to hold at night

You just need someone to to take you home

To pretend you’re not alone

Sometimes you don’t want happiness going in

You just want your heart pumping in adrenaline

And sometimes you don’t want love- just a warm body

And someone who you can let all the scars see

And sometimes it’s hard to remember it’s just a fling

What you think is killing you is just a feeling

Then you think love isn’t real- it’s just a powerful illusion

Just a broken heart drawn to a desperate conclusion

And sometimes it’s alright to cry

Let your heartache stream down from your eyes

Like crystal sunlight,like broken glass

As you wonder how much longer you can last

And you’re so confused

You thought you were loved but you were just used

Praying this is just a dream- that none of this hell is real

Trust me- I know just how that feels”

And I stare into his eyes

An entire world of broken skies

And I hold him while he cries

Listen while he confesses his lies

I hold him while his heart breaks

Under the weight of so many mistakes

As inside he slowly dies

I have him look up to the sunrise

Searching for this end of night

One last chance for the sunlight

-WOLFCALLS

 

Leave a Reply

