COUNTING THE STARS

maxresdefaultWe were out together on a starry night,

See a trail of frosty light,

You say¨Make a wish on a shooting star,¨

I’ve never made a wish so far,

Because as I gaze across the ocean side,

I wonder how I could ever decide,

Because

I wish I could change the way back then was,

I wish  I could keep away the past,

I wish that for once I could let a dream last,

Wish that I’d never said those words at all,

Wish I could catch myself when I fall,

I wish I could fly up and on above,

Leaving behind everyone who’d fooled me so I’d let my heart love.

You tell me “I can fix your broken heart,”

But sometimes I can’t tell present and future apart,

I know that “okay” can’t be real,

And I know how betrayal feels,

And when you ask me how many loves have given me scars

Well, counting them would be like counting the stars.

You keep telling me you’ll make it alright,

That together we can cross that stormy night,

But I can’t make another wrong turn,

I’ve been trying so long that maybe I’ve learned,

You tell me that I should learn how to trust,

But all of that’s been turned to dust,

But how would I know? It might be right,

At least that’s what you tell me under the starlight,

But I don’t know what you won’t let show,

So I guess if it’s what should be we’ll never know,

Because I’ve been to the furthest reaches of the night

I’ve been to corners that have never seen light

I know it’s easy for someone to tear someone else apart

It’s all too easy to break a heart

And all it takes is a couple words to spill

A sentence can break, a love can kill

A backstabbing knife can run a life right through

And I’m so sorry I can never completely trust you

Because if you ask me how many heartbreaking mistakes I’ve made so far

Well, counting them would be like counting the stars

-WOLFCALLS

8 thoughts on “COUNTING THE STARS

  1. “Because if you ask me how many heartbreaking mistakes I’ve made so far
    Well, counting them would be like counting the stars” – Wow. This is beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. //I wish that for once I could let a dream last//
    This line.. is stuck in my mind now..
    Beautiful poem..
    But.. I just felt some words are repeated many times.. Just try to re-structure it a lil’ so we dont feel it..just felt to say it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

