REFLECTIONS

Who is this person so focused on perfection,

Because that’s not me I see when I look at my reflection,

That’s not me people come up to excitedly calling my name,

Is this life an illusion- could it all just be a game?

Because right now I’m trapped between two different sides,

Switching back and forth like changing tides,

Fire and water and flame and frost,

Tossing and turning and I keep getting lost,

Can’t find my way out, lost in this sea,

Forever searching for which side is me,

Who is this person who acts like they’re brave,

When inside they’re so insanely afraid?

Who is this person with a million friends?

A million things started that they already know will end?

Who is this person who is scared to look in the mirror- scared of what they’ll see?

Because I’m scared of what it will look like if I see the real me?

Gazing alone up at the stars,

Wondering how a mind could wander so far,

What will they do when they discover this war inside?

When they discover everything I tried so hard to hide?

Who is person who’s covered in scars,

but hides them because they keep running from who they are?

Who is this person who sees the truth and runs,

Because they’re terrified of the act they’ve begun?

There’s two wars in me,

Two sides that they’ll soon see, But neither have yet won,

Two different stories- or are those two reflections really one?

Leave a Reply

