DYSFUNCTION

There’s a thousand million things rushing through my head

And there’s a thousand million lies that I could tell instead

And while I hate this it’s honest

I’m insanely obsessed

With that feeling you give me when you look me in the eye

When my heart picks up so much speed I feel like I’m going to die

I love and I hate it and I don’t know how

Here’s my honest thoughts right now

This is love is like a thunderstorm

It’s all made of ice but it’s burning warm

And I can’t stand up and look you in the eye

Because I know that I’ll just break down and cry

And I am being torn apart

You’re turning me inside out and you’re breaking my heart

I wish you would set me free

Because I hate what you’re doing to me

And sometimes I wonder if I’ve gone crazy

Because this is overjoy and misery

And every time each round is over

I laugh and cry like I’ve gone bipolar

And I wish that I could get my feelings into line

Because you get me so bad every single time

I don’t know how you do it

You’re either a fox or I’m an idiot

I keep tripping over myself and my tongue’s tied up

It’s always too much but it’s never enough

And I love this crazy life

It’s like scarlet red roses and silver knives

And whenever you talk to me

My heart goes so fast that I can’t breathe

I don’t know why it all feels so wrong

Because the pull I feel towards you is so strong

And I think that I’ve gone insane

Because you are the darkest night and the brightest flame

And I think that you’re slowly killing me

This is one of those crazy conspiracies

And I don’t know how to pull on through

Because I don’t really know what it is you do

And the best thing I can do is pray

Fall down on my knees and hope it’ll all be okay

WOLFCALLS

2 thoughts on “DYSFUNCTION

  1. Wolfcalls, this one tears at me, because I relate to it so perfectly. It leaves me wanting to say, “If I didn’t know better, I could swear you’re reading my thoughts.” This poem is truly haunting, being so full of honest human emotion. Thank you for writing this.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

