WHO’S GOING TO?

No matter how hard I try

We’re drifting further and further and I don’t know why

Now there’s practically a sea

Separating you from me

Maybe it’s time to finally accept it all

Before it causes us both to fall

We’ve made all the same mistakes

And now’s the time for the heartbreak

Who’s going to be the first one to spark the fight?

Who’s going to be the the first to drift off to sleep tonight?

Who’s going to be the first one to say it all first?

Who’s going to be hurt the worst?

We could place a thousand dollar bets

To find out who will be the first to regret

And I could guess who it will be

But I won’t know for certain- you or me?

Who’s going to die the most inside?

Who’s going to be the first to admit how many times they lied?

Who’s going to be the first one to prove they’ve moved on?

Who’s going to be the first one to leave the night for dawn?

Who’s going to be the first person to say goodbye?

Who’s going to be the first one to break down and cry?

Which one of us is going to be the first to walk away?

Who’s going to be the first to say what we know we need to say?

I can’t be certain because

There’s a fifty percent on both of us

Who’s going to hate themselves the most?

It’s hard to say because the result’s pretty close

Who’s going to live with the memories until they die?

Who’s going to try and apologize?

Who’s going to call up a phone

To have the other of us pretend that they’re not home?

Who’s going to try and get away

Because they’re dying again everyday?

Tell me who’s going to

Will it be me or will it be you?

-WOLFCALLS

 

3 thoughts on “WHO’S GOING TO?

  1. This is so amazing, because it tugs on my heart strings. If this was for me to answer. I would say, I’m not going any place. This is full of emotion and really rips ate me. I would say. Love never ends so fight to keep from falling in separate ways. To continue falling together, we have to make it real and grab that golden ring. You are so great. This poem pulls the reader in, and makes them the object of affection/emotion. What an awesome talent you have. I really do love this.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

