WISHES

I thought we had a Fairy Tale once upon a time,

I was lost in a dream back when you were mine,

So reality threw me a harsh blow,

When you whispered to me “I have to go”

And I tried and tried but I couldn’t see

Why fate would have it so you have to leave,

As your hands brush my neck,

I know that it all could have been perfect,

Holding on even though we both know

that in the end we just have to let go,

And I wish that you’d just a moment longer had stayed,

I wish that most of all you’d never had to go away,

I wish that we’d had less promises broken,

I wish that more words had been spoken,

I wish that we’d said more “I love you’s,”

But life’s not a fairy tale

And wishes don’t come true

I tried my best not to cry,

That day when we said goodbye,

Trying not to look at you, staring at the ground,

As you left from this little town,

And still now I see everything in this town as a wish that we made,

Pennies sunk in a fountain to their water- filled graves,

When the sun would sink beneath the trees,

With it each day the promises you made to me,

I couldn’t lose the way it would all feel,

I wished and I wished that it wasn’t real,

But I knew it was, and every night I cried,

Because all of the wishes in me had died,

And I wish that you’d just a moment longer had stayed,

I wish that most of all you’d never had to go away,

I wish that we’d had less promises broken,

I wish that more words had been spoken,

I wish that we’d said more “I love you’s,”

But life’s not a fairy tale

And wishes don’t come true,

And I wished and I wished for such a length,

That over time my wishes lost strength,

And just when I thought that I’d lost all hope yet,

I saw my Happily Ever After coming back to me through the sunset

WOLFCALLS

 

 

Leave a Reply

